Budget Friendly Slow Cooker Vegan Smokey Bean Soup – Feeds a Family

I am a soup and sandwich girl.  But I wanted to create a vegan soup that’s healthier than the canned alternative.  And I wanted a really big batch so I can feed the family and freeze some for later.  So I created this very loose recipes for smokey bean soup. And I mean loose.  I never make it exactly the same.  I use whatever veggies I have in my fridge that sound good.  I also throw in any veggie broth or leftover diced tomatoes or sauce.  I make this ALL the time and keep some in the freezer so I always have yummy soup in pinch.  Honesty I was inspired when I went vegan and wanted a yummy replacement for my guilty pleasure, Bean with Bacon Soup.  If you are comfortable with a recipe that’s a pinch of this, and a splatter of that then you won’t be disappointed.

Ingredients:

3-4 cubes     Not-Chick’n or Not-Beef Cubes from Edward&Sons.  Each cube makes 2 cups of broth so gauge this on how much water you are using.  I like to use enough to cover the beans and another inch to inch and a half more.

1 bag dried beans (soaked overnight)    I use Bob’s Red Mill 29oz 13 bean soup mix.

3 cloves garlic, chopped or diced

1 onion, cubed

2 cups of chopped veggies (about)  I use whatever I have on hand.  I like carrots, celery, kale, spinach, zuccini, roasted brussel sprouts, red, orange, or yellow peppers, mushrooms.

1 cup diced tomatoes, fresh or canned.  You can also use stewed or sauce or paste.  Just adjust amounts according to your tomatoey tastes.  I don’t like a heavy tomato base so I keep it to 1 cup diced.

1/2 TBS Smoked Paprika

1 tsp  Chipotle Chile Pepper Powder.  This has some kick so leave it out if you like.  Just up the paprika amount.

1 TBS  Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle Seasoning Blend (optional)  I just like it.

1/8 c. ish  Vegan Liquid Smoke

2 TBS Vegan Worcestershire

2 TBS Braggs Liquid Aminos

Salt to Season.

Optional Topping: Baco’s or crumbled cooked vegan bacon.

Directions:

I throw all this in a slow cooker on high and let it heat for an hour or two, then test the broth to see if my seasonings are how I like them.  Then I adjust.  More smoky? Add some Liquid Smoke.  More spicy?  Add more Chipotle Chile Pepper.  More depth (umami)?  Add another cube of bouillon.  More salt?  You know what to do.  After I’ve got this just I just keep cooking it for about 6 more hours.  Some of the beans will dissolve adding a nice thickness to your broth.  Crockpots are all different and depending on how big that batch you make you may need to cook a bit longer.  Once this is all cooked and yummy throw it in a bowl and top with vegan bacon crumbles if you like.  Sooooooo good!  Enjoy!

 

Note:  I have made this on the stove as well.  It’s a much quicker but I like to fix it and forget it.  It turns out delicious but you’ll have to be more mindful about checking for doneness.

 

 

Leave a Reply

